Reapportionment & Redistricting


Beginning in January of 2013 and should last until 2022, if you live in Oswego Town, Hannibal and Minetto, you are now part of the 130th Assembly District.

Bob Oaks

If you live anywhere else in Oswego County in January of 2013 and until 2022, you are now part of the 120th Assembly District.

Will Barclay

These were the district maps of the Assembly Members Representing Oswego County at the end of 2012. They were in effect from 2003-2012.

Will Barclay - District 124

Bob Oaks - District 128

Claudia Tenney - District 115

Ken Blankenbush - District 122


Due to redistricting/reapportionment, for this year's elections and they will be in effect for the next 10 years, Oswego County is going from being part of one Congressional District, and split into two.

If you reside in the Cities of Fulton and Oswego, the Towns of Granby, Hannibal, Minetto, Oswego, Palermo, Schroeppel, Volney and part of New Haven, this is your new district.

John Katko - 24th District

The Town of New Haven is now going to Split between 2 different Congressional Districts. Please see the following map for more clarification.

If you live in Albion, Amboy, Boylston, Constantia, Hastings, Mexico, Orwell, Parish, Redfield, Richland, West Monroe, Williamstown, Sandy Creek, and part of New Haven, this is your new district.

Richard Hanna - 22nd District

This was the District map for Oswego County`s representation in Congress from 2003-2012. Bill Owens was your representative until December of 2012.

Bill Owens - 23rd District

Every 10 years in New York State, the Legislative seats in Congress (U.S. House of Representatives), State Senate, State Assembly and County Legislative Districts are altered so that each area represents an approximately equal number of people. That process is called redistricting/reapportionment. These new districts are typically in place by the first election after the United States Census Bureau { } completes the full National count of people residing in the United States. Last count was in 2010 and the next one will be in 2020.

After New York State Officials receive the Census Data, work immediately begins in Albany, on re-drawing the lines for Congressional seats along with its State Legislative Districts. This power currently rests with the majority parties in the New York State Senate and the New York State Assembly. The New York State Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research & Reapportionment { } created in 1978, assist the State Legislature with this process. Through the decades, that procedure has led to new districts that are likely to improve the chances of the majority parties (Democrats in the Assembly and Republicans in State Senate) increasing the numbers in their conference.

After each house completes its own lines, they usually arrive at a bi-partisan agreement regarding the lines for Congress. In 2012, that did not happen. Due to the fact that New York State’s population didn’t grow as fast as some other States and they are losing 2 Representatives in Congress. New York State’s Congressional delegation will now shrink from 29 seats to 27. The Assembly and State Senate Majorities couldn’t come to an agreement in a timely manner over how to re-configure these lines. So a judge finished the process for them. Now Oswego County, for only the 2nd time in its history, will be divided into 2 separate districts for the House of Representatives.

As a result of the Redistricting Agreement struck by Governor Cuomo and Legislative leaders in 2012, a Non Partisan Redistricting Commission not made up of State Legislators will draw the State and Congressional lines next time around. This should be in place in 2022.

Throughout the country for the past 2 centuries, there has been widespread abuse of the power of redistricting to disenfranchise certain groups of group of people, mainly along ethnic and racial lines. So now, any communities with large a number of minorities, must receive approval from the United States Justice Department, before any legislative lines become final.

Also, until the 1960’s, there were many Federal and State Legislative seats that were not equal in population size. This was the case in New York State and other parts of the country. Emphasis use to be mainly along geographic concerns instead of total number of people. United States Supreme Court Decisions, Reynolds v Sims { } Baker v. Carr { }, Wesberry v. Sanders { } and Avery v. Midland County Tex. { } forced New York and other states in the country to compile districts that are more equal in size.

The Oswego County Legislature has just gone through a controversial process of re-drawing its lines for its 25 districts.

For more information about redistricting please go to
For more information about this issue in New York State, please see Professor Justin Levitt’s testimony before the New York State Bar Association: